Early Years Foundation Stage

Our aim is to provide a secure, happy environment in which children can build meaningful relationships through a broad and balanced curriculum enabling them to develop knowledge, concepts, skills, attitudes and a life long love of learning. Young children learn from everything around them – the people, the environment, the atmosphere, the routine and the experiences. All of these elements make up “the nursery curriculum”. Children access the curriculum through a well planned and appropriately resourced learning environment that takes account of the characteristics of young children as learners and the developmental course they take.The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is a statutory curriculum for children age 0-5 years. It emphasises that through play children learn very effectively.

Within the EYFS are goals, which most children are expected to achieve before the end of the year in the Reception class. The steps which children take as they progress towards these goals are known as Development Matters.

The EYFS is divided into seven areas of learning and development, all are important and inter-connected.

These seven areas consist of :

Three prime areas

  • Communication and Language
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development

Four specific areas

  • Literacy
  • Mathematic
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

For more information about the Early Years Foundation Stage Click Here